Day twenty eight, Activism.

On Saturday I went to my first ever Vegan Activism event in Doncaster. It was Amazing, the people were so nice, it was great to meet other Vegans with the same beliefs as me. We had so much in common, it was just so freeing to be able to speak and not be contradicted or people say, yes but what about….. The response we had from the public was so positive. People were coming over and engaging in conversation, a lot were vegetarian wanting to be vegan but we had a farmer come along, who got a little teary saying his job used to be to remove calves from their mother and he felt uncomfortable doing it, he said, “It didn’t feel right”. As humans we are going against our own beliefs and feelings doing unnecessary harm to animals. We don’t need to eat their flesh or secretions to survive. I encourage anyone to look into the Vegan lifestyle. You don’t loose anything but you gain so much.

DSC_0005 (1)

I didn’t take my Camera but here’s a picture from my Instagram account. Here is the poem I was inspired to write from going to the event, which is just the beginning for my activism.

 

Feel,

Feel the Earth breath,

Feel all the pain in the world.

Be heard

Never be silent.

You have a voice,

so use it to do some good.

Speak up for those who have no voice.

We are the generations

who can bring about the change the world needs.

We can do it

Help heal the planet

our Mother is sick.

Use your voice for good

use it for compassion

Help others to understand

help them see the truth, as you do now.

It’s time.

Don’t let animals live in fear

and suffer any longer,

Lets put a stop to it.

Open another’s eyes with your voice

Educate

and eradicate animal abuse.

Stop the slaughter

Teach the world about Veganism

and use your voice to speak up for the voiceless.

DSC_0009

Have a heart, Go Vegan. I urge anyone who wants better health, better nutrition, wants to stop climate change, wants to help the environment, wants to end animal abuse and cruelty, and generally wants to have a low carbon footprint, then live a cruelty free lifestyle. Being Vegan is easy and not extreme, what is extreme is eating the flesh and carcass of a living being who didn’t want to die. The only way is Vegan. xxx

Author: R.J.Dunning

I am a vegan activist and history masters student who travels Scotland and writes poetry. I am an animal lover and have a jackapoo named Agnes. I love baking vegan cakes and biscuits and walking with my dog, oh and I really love Tattoos. Feel free to follow me on Instagram. dreadibek

Leave a comment