Ten, The ring.

Whilst out walking today with my two dogs, Megan and Ruby, I found a plastic ring and this poem just came to me. I found myself rushing home reciting it so as not to forget it. As soon as I got in I wrote it down, see what you think.

 

If you found my Diamond ring

You’d feel lucky enough to sing.

If you found my Diamond ring

three wishes I would grant to thee.

If you found my Diamond ring

grow old you’d do

for each wish you’d make

ten years would I take

and my brother, death would awaken

and in the night you’d be taken

never be mistaken,

For greed indeed is a sin,

as is wasting a life.

One life gone in the blinking of mine eye.

If you were unlucky enough to find my diamond ring

You’d run, run, run.

 

Author: R.J.Dunning

I am a vegan activist and history masters student who travels Scotland and writes poetry. I am an animal lover and have a jackapoo named Agnes. I love baking vegan cakes and biscuits and walking with my dog, oh and I really love Tattoos. Feel free to follow me on Instagram. dreadibek

Leave a comment