The Leprechaun

This week at writers group we were given the theme of the Green hat, to write a poem about. It made me think of a leprechaun, so here is what I wrote.

 

All with a green hat upon my head,

A black buckled belt and shoes,

and my lovely, velvet lined bright green coat.

I’ll feed my giant goat.

I can survive in a moor,

Yet I love the forest,

my home I find in a small dry cave,

I cannot say that I am brave.

People call me pigmy.

I am the son of an evil spirit,

yet I myself am not wholly evil,

nor am I wholly good.

I do partake in a little mischief.

My cousin is the Pixie,

My uncle a sprite.

I long for the night,

I live for the day.

I am a solitary creature,

my beard a big feature.

Folklore will say I am a trickster,

a practical joker,

don’t hit me with that poker,

I’m here to mend a shoe, or two.

I’ll guard my pot of hidden gold,

in the heat or in the cold.

At the end of the rainbow,

Where all winds shall flow

and the golden water glow.

The wealth of treasure,

buried in a time of old,

War time, no peace,

that me and mine have uncovered and appropriated.

If you should be lucky and capture me,

Three wishes will I grant to thee,

all in exchange for my freedom.

But be warned, I am a trickster,

by name and by nature.

All this I am,

with a green hat upon my head,

I shall never be found dead.

for as long as one still believes,

this world is where I shall live.

 

 

Author: dreadibek

I am a vegan dread head who travels Scotland and writes poetry. I am an animal lover and activist I love baking vegan cakes and biscuits and walking with my dogs xxxx

3 thoughts on “The Leprechaun”

Leave a Reply

